Assam Map google map of Assam state India with information

Assam is one of the 29 states of great India. The State Assam formed on 1st April 1911. The present capital name is Dispur. Assam having total of 32 districts and following are the names of districts: Barpeta,Bongaigaon,Cacher,Darrang,Dhemaji,Dhubri,Dibrugarth,Goalpara, Hailakandy,Jorhat,Karbi Anglong,Karimganj,Kokrajhar,Lakimpur,Morigaon,Nagaon,Nalbari,Dima Hasao,Sivanagar,Sonitpur,Tinsukia,Kamrup,Kamrup Metropolitan,Baksa,Udalguri,Chirang,West Karbi Anglong,Biswanth,Hojai,Charideo,South Salmara-mankacharn.

Sarbananda Sonowal (BJP) is the present chief minister of Assam, he belongs to the political party named BJP. Present Governor name is Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya. Total area of Assam is 78,438 km2 (30,285 sq mi). As per the total area, Assam holds the position of 17th., ie: This state is the 17th biggest state in India.


Total Population in Assam is 31205576(includes men and women). Official language of Assam is Assamese,English. One horned rhinoceros is the official animal of this state. Official Bird is White-winged wood duck and flower is Rhynchostylis retusa. There are number of Dipterocarpus macrocarpus trees are there in Assam and Dipterocarpus macrocarpus is the official tree.

Important airports in Assam are Lokpriya Gopinath, Bordoloi International Airport-Guwahati, Mohanbari Airport, Dibrugarh,Lilabari Airport, Lakhimpur,Salonibari Airport, Tezpur,Rowriah Airport, Jorhat,Kumbhirgram Airport, Silchar etc and majority of the peoples participating in the festival named Bihu dance,Durga Puja. Assam government official website is: You can find additional details there.

Assam formed on: 1st April 1911
Capital: Dispur
Chief Minister: Sarbananda Sonowal (BJP)
Governor: Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya
Total Districts in Assam: 32
Political Party in Power: BJP

Details last updated on: 14-07-2016

Leave a Comment