Meghalaya Map google map of Meghalaya state india with information

Meghalaya is one of the 29 states of great India. The State Meghalaya formed on 21 January 1972. The present capital name is Shillong. Meghalaya having total of 11 districts and following are the names of districts: West Jaintia Hills (Jowai),East Jaintia Hills (Khliehria),East Khasi Hills (Shillong),West Khasi Hills (Nongstoin),South West Khasi Hills (Mawkyrwat),Ri-Bhoi (Nongpoh),North Garo Hills (Resubelpara),East Garo Hills (Williamnagar),South Garo Hills (Baghmara),West Garo Hills (Tura),South West Garo Hills (Ampati)..

Mukul Sangma is the present chief minister of Meghalaya, he belongs to the political party named INC. Present Governor name is V. Shanmuganathan. Total area of Meghalaya is 22,429 km2 (8,660 sq mi). As per the total area, Meghalaya holds the position of 23rd., ie: This state is the 23rd biggest state in India.


Total Population in Meghalaya is 3211000(includes men and women). Official language of Meghalaya is Hindi, English,Khasi, Garo. Clouded leopard is the official animal of this state. Official Bird is Hill myna and flower is Lady slipper orchid. There are number of Gamari trees are there in Meghalaya and Gamari is the official tree.

Important airports in Meghalaya are “Shillong airport etc and majority of the peoples participating in the festival named Wangala Festival. Meghalaya government official website is: You can find additional details there.

Meghalaya formed on: 21 January 1972
Capital: Shillong
Chief Minister: Mukul Sangma
Governor: V. Shanmuganathan
Total Districts in Meghalaya: 11
Political Party in Power: INC

Details last updated on: 05/09/2016

Leave a Comment